Previous in Forum: Repair of Centrifugal Compressor   Next in Forum: Reciprocating Compressor Capacity Control
Close
Close
Close
20 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

What is Appurtenant Material?

10/13/2013 8:22 AM

"API 650 Clause 4.2.2 a) ASTM A36M/A36 for plates to a maximum thickness of 40 mm (1.5 in.). None of the specifications for the appurtenant materials listed in Table 1 of ASTM A36M/A36 are considered acceptable for tanks constructed under this standard unless it is expressly stated in this standard that the specifications are acceptable."

I would like to know ,what is appurtenant materials?

I know shell plates, bottom plates, annular plates. But I am clueless about appurtenant material. Appurtenant is different from shell,annular and bottom plates or it is a general terminology to mention the plate used for shell,annular and bottom? I am new to API 650 code and heavily working in it to understand the code.Any experienced hand in tank design or fabrication can help me to understand my doubt.

Thanks

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Engineering Fields - Optical Engineering - Member Engineering Fields - Engineering Physics - Member Engineering Fields - Systems Engineering - Member

Good Answers: 646

Re: What is appurtenant material?

10/13/2013 9:06 AM

Google Search Results

ap·pur·te·nantəˈpərtn-ənt/adjectiveadjective: appurtenant

1. 1. belonging; pertinent."secondary buildings that are appurtenant to the main building"
Anonymous Poster #1
In reply to #1

10/13/2013 9:24 AM