Previous in Forum: Allam Cycle with High Tower for Water Condensing   Next in Forum: Calculating Safe Wall Thickness of a Vacuum Tube
Close
Close
Close
22 comments
Associate

Bore & Stroke Values

06/05/2016 7:48 AM

Dears,

i am not a mechanical engineer, but am curious to find out the impact on performance of different bore and stroke values, i.e.

engine 1 (Caterpillar): Bore 170 mm, Stroke 190 mm, V-12

engine 2 (Cummins): Bore 158.8 mm, Stroke 158.8 mm, V-16

both the engines are of generator having same generating power i.e. 1250 KVA @ 460V, 60 Hz.

which of the engine will be more powerful or reliable? regarding fuel consumption, which of them will consume less fuel?

what are the advantages of one over the other?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 779

Re: Bore & Stroke values

06/05/2016 8:26 AM

See each mfr's respective fuel consumption data.

See how often each fuel delivery system needs to be examined and adjusted.

Good Answers: 1661

06/05/2016 10:39 AM

Contact the manufacturers and ask them.

Or use the internet for something other than asking others to look it up for you.

I have done the initial search for you, now it's up to you.

Diesel Engines | Cummins

Cat | Power Systems | Caterpillar

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Associate

In reply to #2

06/07/2016 2:42 AM