Previous in Forum: Computer Cookies   Next in Forum: SQL Writer Problem
Close
Close
Close
34 comments
Guru
Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Engineering Fields - Civil Engineering - New Member United States - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 177

Converting CAD Drawing Files Into Graphics-Based Files

03/03/2012 2:27 PM

Hello all. For starters I'm looking for some advice on how to convert standard CAD drawing files into usable graphics-based files.

Okay, here is some background info:

I'm currently using CMS IntelliCAD (an AutoCAD clone) and have designed a new company logo using it. I can only save the logo drawing to a *.dwg or *.dxf formatted file. I want to insert this logo into my company website header next to the company name. I just started developing this website the other day and haven't gotten to far. I'm currently using WordPress (WP). Be gentle, I'm a newbie at website development! Also, I'm not sure if WP supports the import of standard drawing file types that I've previously mentioned. So far, I haven't not found any WordPress FAQ's that cover this issue.

As a backup, I have ordered Adobe Dreamweaver Cs5 for my website design, but have not received it yet via the USPS mail. I do not know it's full capabilities......FYI I have registered to take a Dreamweaver course at the local community college, so that's my first line of defense if the WP platform is inadequate for my needs. Again, I'm not sure if I can import the drawing file into the Dreamweaver platform and convert it into a user friendly file format either.

Overall, I'm looking for advice how to convert drawing files into some sort of graphics-based file format.

1. WordPress Questions:

a. Is it possible to convert the drawing files types into a usable graphics file format that Wordpress can import?

b. If yes, then how is it done in WP? I'll need step-by-step instructions...yeah, hold my hand and show me the way!