Previous in Forum: Liquid Boiling   Next in Forum: Why Can't DC Motors be Labeled the Same as AC Motors?
Close
Close
Close
33 comments

PSI - Not Sure How Much I Need

10/18/2012 2:30 PM

Hello, Would really appreciate any advice or feedback since I am not an engineer. I am looking to build a device that emits a continuous stream of air, similar to a hairdryer but without heat. The air stream is also more concentrated and smaller than that of a hairdryer, perhaps the width or circumference of an index finger. I need the air pressure to be significantly stronger than that of a hairdryer. If, for example, a glass of water were sitting on a table, the air pressure from this device would be enough to knock it over. The device would have an electrical cord so it would have a continuous power source to operate the motor, like a hairdryer. Any thoughts about the amount of air pressure needed? Thanks in advance.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: hair dryer motor psi
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - CNC - New Member Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member Engineering Fields - Electromechanical Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 416

Re: PSI - Not Sure How Much I Need

10/18/2012 2:55 PM

Ok, what do you need, pressure or velocity of a hair dryer. Because I think you may be confusing the two.

In reply to #1

10/18/2012 3:30 PM

I believe I need the pressure of a hairdryer. I know there are tools to measure PSI, but would like to know if anyone might guess what the psi of a hairdryer is (roughly).

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 15

10/18/2012 3:14 PM