Previous in Forum: High Temperature Oil Resistant Sealing Material for Metal   Next in Forum: Natural Gas Loss from a Purge
Close
Close
Close
83 comments
Active Contributor

Artificial Atmosphere In Vacuum

12/16/2014 4:57 PM

Hello, newb here. Im not an engineer. I am a filmmaker and I have an issue that is driving me nuts. Any help would be appreciated.

Hypo 1: you hammer a metal spike into dirt with a steelhead hammer. Just a standard home use hammer, lets say with an aluminum handle. If you could mute the head striking the spike completely, would the vibration from the handle emit a sound audible to human ear without amplification,sort of like a tuning fork. I have used a transducer contact mic to record the vibration and it registers a muted but clear ping. Would this sound be audible to the human ear without the amplificationof the transducer? i know if i press my ear against the handle it would, but assuming my ear was a few inches away, would I hear that ping or anything at all?

Hypo 2: an astronaut working on space station bangs a metal rivet and in the vacuum of space nothing is heard, but will the vibration from handle, after somewhat reflected back by glove, and also somewhat absorbed by glove.... will the left over transmission into the atmosphere of the suit be audible to the astronaut or loud enough to trigger mic in helmet? I have clips/interviews of many astronauts stating they hear nothing when banging tools in space, but I want to know why? Is it because the glove suit etc, damp the vibrations, or are they simply not audible without amplification? [a] And finally, is there a device, sort of like a contact transducer mic, that would read the decibel or frequency of the vibration in the handle and give a read out as to whether such is audible to human ear without amplification?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.