Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: How Do You Perform an Energy Audit?   Next in Forum: The Alternative Fuel of the Future: Gasoline
Close

Comments Format:






Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:







18 comments
Anonymous Poster

P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

04/19/2006 6:58 AM

Anonymous Coward writes:
Code P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction. Is this a speed sensor problem? 2000 Mazda Protege 1.6 l. There is 4 of speed sensors which one it is?

left front
left rear
right front
right rear

Reply
Pathfinder Tags: circuit malfunction speed sensors
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Power-User
United States - Member - Germany - Member - Spain - Member - Trabajo en Pamplona

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 346
#1

Couple Questions

04/19/2006 8:17 AM

What transmission do you have in this car?

Any recent service?

When was the transmission last serviced?

How is the car shifting?

Any noises?

Do you have your own OBDII/Test equipment?

Were there any other codes?

And finally why do you think its a wheel speed sensor?

If you have an Automatic transmission this problem is most likely related to your transmission not the wheel speed sensors. I'll wait for your reply to my questions before I go into detail....

Reply
Participant

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
#9
In reply to #1

Re: Couple Questions

11/28/2007 4:43 PM

I have a Mazda 626 2000 LX with a 2.5 L

I have a automatic transmisson.

No recent service done.

With the last owner about a year ago.

Even know its a automatic, you can feel it shift in to each gear, it is slower now shifting in to each gear at a later rpm then usual.

Not really a noise, but my overdrive light flashes on and off for about a min, before the light go away but when it comes on the car actually shifts in and out of overdrive.

My mechanic has the testing equipment.

Yes there were 2 other codes they are P0171 and P0174.

There are the question you asked for also my gf says when i put my intake in all this started to happen, could this be the cause?

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#15
In reply to #9

Re: Couple Questions

12/18/2009 8:52 AM

check your transmission fluid it could be low. as for those other codes they are for your fuel trim

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#13
In reply to #1

Re: Couple Questions

10/09/2009 1:35 AM

I have a XG300 with auto transmission. No service at all. The car doesn't shift well. it has a bad kick when it start to move and some times in second gear. it has also P0302 misfire in 2 cylinder and P1159 manufacture controlled fuel and air metering. can you tell me if the shifting is as result of these codes or the transmission is gone.

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#14
In reply to #1

Re: Couple Questions

11/15/2009 1:47 PM

I have a 2005 Mercedes ML350, dash light came on checked code readout P0715

Input/ Turbine speed sensor A circuit.

Transmission stop shifting into hight gear

Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Good Answers: 2
#2

Input/turbine speed sensor

04/20/2006 2:57 AM

Since the Protege comes in three versions and you didn't happen to mention whether it was a DX, EX or LX, let's just assume it is an EX. The input turbine speed sensor is Japanenglish for transmission input speed sensor. It has two wires connecting it to the control unit. Pin A on the sensor goes to pin 23 on the control unit. Pin B on the connector goes to pin 84 on the control unit. Lift the car off the ground. Hook up your scope and check the wave form from the sensor. Pull the plug on the control unit and backprobe the resistance between pins 23 and 84. Spec 250-600 ohms, if out of spec replace the sensor. If OK, check each sensor wire for short to ground or open. Remove sensor from transmission and check for iron powder on sensor tip--clean and reinstall. Recheck wave pattern. Hook you scan tool to the OBDII connector. Record freeze frame data and take particular notice of the sensor's PID. Clear codes and freeze frame data via your scan tool at the OBDII connector (DLC). Start the car and accellerate to 40 km/hr for at least 0.7 seconds or more while reading the scan tool and watch the input sensor PID for a recurrence of the code. If it doesn't reocccur, test drive and ship. If it's an LX then the procedure is slightly different. It's probably a bad sensor of a damaged wire close to it.

Reply
Power-User
United States - Member - Germany - Member - Spain - Member - Trabajo en Pamplona

Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 346
#3
In reply to #2

Re:Input/turbine speed sensor

04/20/2006 8:43 AM

Your too kind...I wanted to see if this person was actually going to respond before I took the time to give a detailed reply, since they didn't take the time to get a user name when they posted. Its too bad...I think there are a lot of "gearheads" on here that would be happy to answer his/her questions. Oh well....Nothing personal - Best of luck to them.

Reply
Participant

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
#4
In reply to #2

Re:Input/turbine speed sensor

05/01/2006 12:59 PM

Would your very detailed diagnosis, and proposed fixes, apply also to a 2000 626-ES, 2.5L Mazda? I assume that only a Mazda dealer can handle this issue. Would it cost two arms and two legs? or just an arm and a leg?? Thanks. Dani

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#5
In reply to #4

Re:Input/turbine speed sensor

08/01/2006 8:13 PM

I have a Protege LX 2000, my mechanic said it has trany sensor (PO768) problem but it's not urgent to fix it because it wont affect engine performance but would cost me $350 canadian... is this the same problem? should i have it fix soon?

Reply
Participant

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
#6

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

09/25/2006 1:02 PM

I have the same issue with a 2001 BMW 325i steptronic. The only thing I did before this problem started was to remove the ashtray assembly and reinstall. I had thought that maybe I had knocked something loose, but I can't find any loose wires or connectors. Could it just be a coincidence?

I would like to fix this myself if there is any way possible. Any suggestions?

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#7

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

07/07/2007 4:35 PM

I am having the same problem with my 99 Jeep Grand Cherokee (twice in less than a year now); at Autozone, the OBD code was PO715 (same as last time).

I will like to know where these sensors are located on my car so I can change them myself, instead of paying $150 to install a $20 part

Felix

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#8
In reply to #7

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

07/20/2007 8:16 PM

what did you find out about your 1999 jeep? I have the exact same thing.

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#10
In reply to #8

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

02/10/2008 6:08 AM

Does anyone know how to advance the odometer reading on a maxda sp23 auto

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#11
In reply to #10

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

05/18/2009 5:19 AM

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#12

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

08/05/2009 4:21 PM

I have a 1999 Merc ML430 and I was told that the code is P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor A Circuit Malfunction. Is this a speed sensor problem? or some thing else? Need help.

Reply
Participant

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
#16

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

01/12/2010 4:21 PM

My mom has a 2002 Kia Sedona LX with the v6. This code came up when i ran the code reader on it. Sometimes it will shift out of overdrive down to 2nd gear and wont shift up or down unless you stop, put it in neutral and cut the car off. what will repair this? a new speed sensor? they had some work done on it about 2 months ago and the mechanic was supposed to fix this problem. please e-mail me at benbailey84@mchsi.com if you know what we should do. thanks ben

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#17
In reply to #16

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

04/05/2010 8:31 PM

> ... Sometimes it will shift out of overdrive down to 2nd gear and wont shift up or down unless you stop, put it in neutral and cut the car off. ...

I have this exact symptom that goes along with my P0715 error on my 98 Ford Escort. I was adding tranny fluid to it to keep it from happening again. Now I probably got too much fluid in there, and it still does this intermittently. I'd register so I don't have to comment anonymously, but I just admitted that I have a Ford Escort. :-)

Reply
Anonymous Poster
#18

Re: P0715 Input/Turbine Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction

07/29/2010 10:00 PM

i need help i have a cs2a lancer cedia.i change the tranny & when i change it i got the neutral light blinking on the dash & it sounding like the over-drive on car,car moving sluggish & when i scan it two codes came up turbine speed 09 & clutch sys 2 help needed

Reply
Reply to Forum Thread 18 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (11); benbailey84 (1); Dani (1); hachero (1); Nick83 (1); stilljester (2); wrench (1)

Previous in Forum: How Do You Perform an Energy Audit?   Next in Forum: The Alternative Fuel of the Future: Gasoline
You might be interested in: Turbine Repair and Maintenance Services, Turbine Pumps, Circuit Breakers