Sites: GlobalSpec.com | GlobalSpec Electronics | CR4 | Electronics360
Login | Register
The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: What is a Cam Shaft?   Next in Forum: Volvo V70 Dies After 2 Minutes of Driving
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

6 comments
Active Contributor

Jeep Grand Cherokee, 1998, Automatic Shutdown Device

12/13/2009 11:54 AM

Other than the relay, is there another part of this system, like a switch located on the car somewhere? I have looked at schematics and could not locate a switch or any thing that would tie into this. I did find a tie into the fuel pump and this relay on the schematic. But I'm no electrician or electronics type. I have trouble with the engine just cutting off. I have located a relay for the Automatic Shutdown Device in the power center under the hood. I felt this relay and it was very hot to the touch, burns your fingers when touched. Is this normal? I changed out the relay with a new one but no change. I also found that the relay for the fuel pump was warm to the touch. I get good fuel pressure and when I remove the pump relay while the car is running it shuts off slowly as the fuel pressure gage shows a decline in the pressure. When removing the automatic shutdown device relay the car just shuts off. This car has been rearended at one time. I don't know if this has anything to do with this problem. I know some cars have switches that shut the fuel pump down when ever they are hit or turn over in an accedent. This is my daughters car and she has a three month old. When she's on the road it just shuts down but in most cases starts right back up but in the other cases, she has to wait a few min. to restart. Any help would be great. Thanks guys.

Register to Reply