CR4 - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Aluminum and Copper Bar Attach   Next in Forum: Cable Size Identification
Close

Comments Format:

Close

Subscribe to Discussion:

CR4 allows you to "subscribe" to a discussion
so that you can be notified of new comments to
the discussion via email.

Close

Rating Vote:

19 comments
Participant

Calculate Fuel Consumption Per Day for Diesel Generator?

03/15/2012 1:19 AM

This is possibly a simple question to an electrical engineer but I am not an electrical engineer :)

I need to calculate fuel consumption rate per day for a diesel generator. The information I have are electrical loads in A and the fact that the generator will be 550KVa.

Can anyone tell me how to calculate this?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 507

Re: Calculate Fuel Consumption per day for Diesel Generator?

03/15/2012 1:45 AM

Good Answers: 1

03/15/2012 2:25 AM
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Associate

Good Answers: 1

03/15/2012 2:42 AM

Engine manufacturer offer curve indicating %engine loading Vs fuel consumption in grams/BHP. Optimal engine loading corresponding to best operating point is desirable for energy efficiency. Value around 160 g/KWH is best known.

as you have the loading data you can measure fuel consumption by dip level or flow meter. and put it on specific fuel consumption chart.

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru

Location: Commissariat de Police, Nouvions, occupied France, 1942.
Good Answers: 36

03/15/2012 4:28 AM

Dipstick (no offence).