CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Is This Support Adequate?   Next in Forum: Qtel Specification for Manholes in Qatar
Close
Close
Close
14 comments
Participant

Building from Ground Level Up?

02/26/2013 3:12 PM

I am an architecture student and for my proposal I am intending on building a tower block from ground level and 'jacking up' the building so that the first ground level to be built will end up being the tallest level, and the last level built will end up being the ground level. Does anyone have any advice on this or any examples of this having already been done? Many thanks

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: architecture building ground Tall
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1594

Re: Building from Ground Level Up?

02/26/2013 3:44 PM

Look at "jack-up" building techniques.

Contact civil engineering companies.

Case study of a synchronous hydraulic jack-up system for constructing

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Commentator

Good Answers: 4

02/26/2013 10:30 PM

Several companies build large storage tanks like this.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
Engineering Fields - Civil Engineering - Member

Good Answers: 11

02/26/2013 11:09 PM

Fyi, the standard technique was known as ''lift-slab'' construction.

Consider ''googling'' or ''binging'' that, as well.

Good Answers: 92

02/26/2013 11:12 PM