Previous in Forum: Hot Tapping on Natural Gas Line   Next in Forum: Bearing Mounting & Dismounting
Close
Close
Close
43 comments
Active Contributor

Good Answers: 1

Space Saver Mechanical Hand Crank Compartment Control

03/02/2011 12:51 AM

Greetings. I am a woodworker, and i build lockboxes with hidden compartments and complicated homemade magnetic locks. On my current lockbox, i am trying to design a "box of compartments", 16 compartments to be precise. included is a quick top view (looking down) design. there are actually 15 compartments and one empty space (the empty space is same size as the other compartments). what i want to happen is by turning a 'hand crank' or some type of similar device, the compartment to the right of the open space moves to that open space. as the crank continues to turn, the next compartment moves over. (e.g. 12 moves to slot 11, then 10 moves to slot 11, and so on). there are a couple of issues i am facing. what kind of trigger mechanism can i use? as the hand crank turns and the first compartment moves into the open space, i need some type of trigger mechanism to "tell" the next compartment to move into the open space? another issue is how to get these compartments to turn the square corners. i thought about using a 'track' that makes turns, and each compartment would have 2 points that fit into the track. as the compartment moves into the corner, the point facing the movement direction would jump to the next track. im stuck on this idea. i know there's a solution, but i can't see it right now.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru